Because of the coronavirus, European Union bars American travelers

UPDATE EU agrees to reopen borders to 15 countries but excludes US from safe travel list

Coronavirus: EU to allow in visitors from 14 'safe' countries

The EU-wide ban came after individual member states closed their national borders in the absence of a coordinated policy.

Algeria, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand and Tunisia rounded out the countries, which was agreed to by vote among the EU's 27 member states.

The list details the countries whose citizens will be allowed to enter 31 different European countries, with non-essential travel expected to resume on Wednesday.

The EU's efforts to reopen its internal borders, particularly among the 26-nation Schengen area which normally has no frontier checks, have been patchy as various countries have restricted access for certain visitors.

The countries would also have to lift any bans they might have on European travelers.

The EU will continue to ban travellers from the U.S. and most other countries beyond July 1, EU diplomats told German news agency dpa.

8 states contributed 85pc COVID-19 caseload, 87pc deaths: Health Ministry
India now has 1026 diagnostic laboratories, including 741 in the government sector and 285 in the private sector, he said. It is the eighth day overall this month that no new deaths have been reported within the previous 24 hours.

‘Pink Supermoon’ to be visible on April 8
The moon will be full only on Tuesday night, but will be large enough on Monday and Wednesday to still merit a look, Delaney said. According to NASA , the full moon will be closest to Earth shortly after 10:30 p.m. (EDT) on April 7.

Ahmaud Arbery: Three men indicted for killing Black man
Gregory McMichael and his son, Travis McMichael , have been charged with murder in the February shooting death of Ahmaud Arbery . Lawyers for the Mr McMichaels have cautioned against a rush to judgement and have said the full story will come out in court.

Ghanaians will not still be able to enter into any of the European Union countries when the bloc opens its borders on July 1 to some selected 15 countries. While the recommendations will be reviewed every two weeks, the guidelines suggest that USA residents won't be allowed to travel to the European Union until the spread of the coronavirus is under control domestically.

However, it is not expected that member states will deviate from the recommendations in a direction that allows for more countries to be added to their lists. However, Brazil, the United States and China are excluded from the list, BNT reported.

However, the health-based criteria collided with national interests and geopolitics, with some countries reluctant to collectively ban the United States while welcoming visitors from China, where the pandemic began.

Non-essential travel to the European Union has been blocked since mid-March.

Whatever is decided in Brussels will exist only as a recommendation since border control remains a national competence and a limited number of flights to and from banned countries have continued throughout the crisis.

-An overall response to COVID-19 including testing, surveillance, contact tracing, containment, treatment and reporting, as well as the reliability of the information.

Latest News